Human Right to Housing Awards

Including Presentation of Stewart B. McKinney & Bruce F. Vento Awards

2022 Awards held Wednesday, November 16th,

From 5:30-7:30pm

Hosted by Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

2001 K St NW, Washington, DC 20006

As of 11.14.2022

For 23 years, the National Homelessness Law Center has hosted the McKinney Vento Awards to honor organizations, leaders, and changemakers that work to bring awareness to and advance the solutions to homelessness and poverty. These awards pay tribute to two outstanding national leaders: Stewart B. McKinney and Bruce F. Vento.

In 1987, the late Congressman Stewart B. McKinney was a primary sponsor of landmark legislation providing federal assistance to Americans experiencing homelessness. The late Congressman Bruce F. Vento worked in partnership with Stewart B. McKinney and served as one of the original authors of the McKinney Act. After his untimely death in 2000, the legislation was renamed the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act in recognition of Congressman Vento’s resolve to help homeless persons become self-sufficient. This Act is the first and only significant federal legislative response to homelessness. Since its passage, millions of dollars each year go to support a wide range of services and rights for people experiencing homelessness, from emergency shelter programs to education access for children. Defending these rights continues to be an important part of the work of the Law Center.

Beginning in 2022, this annual awards event will be named the Human Right to Housing Awards to reflect the direction of the movement to end homelessness and the broader work of the Law Center. The event will continue to honor the work of these visionary leaders through the presentation of the Stewart B. McKinney Award and the Bruce F. Vento Award, in addition to other awards. We hope you join us in the next chapter of this decades-old celebration and check back here for more details!

COVID-19 Considerations

We are excited to host our first in-person event since 2019 and we look forward to seeing you on November 16 from 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.!

The Awards event will take place on Akin’s rooftop space and will have plenty of air circulation. Masks are encouraged but not required for this event.

We encourage all attendees to be up to date on their vaccinations and boosters or have a negative COVID test administered by a health care professional within 3 days of the event. If possible, we also encourage persons who are vaccinated to take a rapid test prior to joining the event.

Should you feel unwell the day of the event, please stay home and rest. You may view the awards live on our Facebook page. A replay of the Awards will also be available on our Facebook page or YouTube page after the event to watch at your convenience.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email